News and Announcements Home
The original item was published from 1/9/2019 12:01:37 PM to 2/10/2019 12:00:02 AM.

News and Announcements

1 2 3 Top Stories

Posted on: January 9, 2019

[ARCHIVED] Board of Commissioners Reorganization

Commissioners Clark and Blount were sworn in by the Honorable Judge Stephen G. Scarlett, Sr. of the Brunswick Judicial Circuit. Elected in November 2018, their terms end on December 31, 2022.

At the first meeting of each year, the Board of Commissioners selects the Chair and Vice-Chair of the County Commission to serve a one-year term.  Commissioner Jimmy Starline was elected as Chair and Commissioner Gary Blount as Vice-Chair for 2019.

The Board of Commissioners is comprised of five members chosen through district elections for staggered, four-year terms. Responsibilities of the Commission include making policies; adopting laws; setting budget limits; establishing tax rates; and setting an official regular meeting and holiday calendar. The Board also appoints a County Administrator and a County Attorney, both of whom are chosen by and responsible to the Board of Commissioners.

Board meetings are usually held at 6:00 p.m. on the first and third Tuesday of each month unless otherwise scheduled. All meetings are held in Woodbine on the second floor of the Government Services Complex, in the Commissioners Meeting Chambers. Special Called meetings, Work Sessions, and Public Hearings are held when necessary. A meeting calendar is on the homepage of the county’s website, All meetings are open to the public.

Swearing-In of Commissioners Blount and Clark

From Left:
The Honorable Judge Stephen G. Scarlett Sr., Commissioner Chuck Clark, and Commission Vice-Chair Gary Blount

Full Press Release (PDF)
Facebook Twitter Email