News and Announcements Home
The original item was published from 1/12/2021 5:42:49 PM to 1/12/2021 5:57:58 PM.

News and Announcements

1 2 3 Top Stories

Posted on: January 12, 2021

[ARCHIVED] Board of Commissioners Reorganization

Each year before their first meeting, the Board of Commissioners selects the Chair and Vice-Chair of the County Commission to serve a one-year term. District 4 Commissioner Gary Blount was elected as Chair and District 5 Commissioner Ben Casey was elected as Vice-Chair for 2021.

Additionally, the Camden County Board of Commissioners welcomed back District 1 Commissioner Lannie Brant and District 5 Commissioner Ben Casey to start their second terms. Joining the Board of Commissioners for his first term is District 3 Commissioner Trevor Readdick. Commissioners Brant, Readdick, and Casey were sworn in by the Honorable Judge Robert W. Guy, Jr. of the Brunswick Judicial Circuit. Elected in November 2020, their terms end on December 31, 2024.

The Board of Commissioners is comprised of five members chosen through district elections for staggered, four-year terms. Responsibilities of the Commission include making policies; adopting laws; setting budget limits; establishing tax rates; and setting an official regular meeting and holiday calendar. The Board also appoints a County Administrator and a County Attorney, both of whom are chosen by and responsible to the Board of Commissioners.

Board meetings are usually held at 6:00 p.m. on the first and third Tuesday of each month unless otherwise scheduled. Special Called meetings, Work Sessions, and Public Hearings are held when necessary. A meeting calendar is on the homepage of the county’s website, All meetings are open to the public.

Full Press Release (PDF)
Facebook Twitter Email