Marriage Licenses

COVID-19 Update

The Camden County Probate Court Judge will NOT be performing any Marriage Ceremonies until further notice. 

Application for Marriage License

Application Process

  1. Applications for a marriage license may begin online or can be completed in person at the Probate Court office located inside the Camden County Courthouse, 210 East 4th Street, Woodbine. If you choose to fill out the application online, you have two weeks after the information is submitted to complete the application process at Probate Court.
  2. Two forms of identification are required. You must bring the following with you if you are filling out the application in person OR have submitted the application online and need to complete the process:
    1. Valid Driver’s License, Valid State issued ID, or Valid Passport
    2. If divorced, a copy of the final, certified divorce decree
    3. If widowed, a copy of the death certificate.
    4. Fee is $76 ($50 if you receive Premarital Counseling)
    5. Birth Certificates are helpful but are not required (may be counted as one form of identification.).
  3. Applications for Marriage Licenses can occur Monday – Friday, from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Marriage licenses are not issued on holidays or court days so it is advisable to contact the office in advance.

Legal Requirements

The following Legal Requirements must also be satisfied:

  • Residency Requirement: If one of the parties is a resident of Georgia, the license can be issued in any county.  If neither party is a resident of Georgia, the license must be issued in the county in which the marriage ceremony is to be performed. 
  • Surname: The applicants must designate on the application the legal surname that will be used after the marriage. 
  • Legal Requirements: 
    • The parties must be of sound mind, must have no living spouse from an un-dissolved prior marriage, and must not be related in a degree prohibited by law. Both parties must be at least 18 years of age.  A 17 year old may be issued a marriage license only IF ALL OF THE FOLLOWING ARE MET: 
      • A petition is granted in juvenile court for emancipation and a certified copy of such order is presented. (See O.C.G.A. § 15-11-720).
      • 15 days have passed since the date the order granting emancipation was granted.
      • Applicants have completed premarital education according to O.C.G.A. § 19-3-30.1. (There are additional counseling requirements for those 17 years old).

As of July 1, 2019, no one under the age of 17 shall be issued a marriage license in the State of Georgia. Parental consent to a marriage license is no longer allowed in this State.

Premarital Counseling

A form may be obtained from Camden County Probate Court.  It must be signed and notarized and presented when applying for the marriage license.

Certified Copies of Marriage Certificates

Application and payment for certified copies of Marriage Certificates may be obtained through EZCourtPay.

February 2024

28 29 30 31 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 1 2

There are no published events in current month.

View All Events